This week, my weblog assignment is about web design with grids. I just had my first experience developing a website with 3 columns. The process was not as difficult as I expected it to be. Nathan Smith’s 960 grid system http://960.gs/  made the process a whole lot simpler for me. I spent some time watching this video http://vimeo.com/31355402 by Khoi Vinh and reading material from http://www.thegridsystem.org  . The video was enjoyable and very well made. However, from my perspective as a novice web-designer, it did not really provide a lot of meaningful information. The comic book references caught my attention, and the idea that a grid layout can help communicate core ideas and emotions was insightful. It was the material I found on The Grid System website that I found extremely informative. There I learned the importance of having recognizable patterns and logically organizing information. Apparently before CSS, designers had to do some tedious math to create such layouts. I read about the golden ratio and viewed some interesting layout examples.

Having only experienced a basic 1,2 or 3 column layout, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by some of this information. I really liked some of the layout designs displayed. I feel that as a future web-designer  grids will play an essential part of the design process. As I learned in my Intro to Web class, a lot goes into planning the physical layout of the content. I am really looking forward to learning about more complex layouts that have more than just page length columns. I can’t wait to develop more complex layouts utilizing this grid system, with some wide open spaces and the use of negative space. With so much information and a lack of experience, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by how complicated some of this seems. I just have to be patient, and continue forth with the learning process. A “baby-steps” approach seems to work better than trying to learn everything at once.

As a designer, the grid system really helps focus on user centered design. Clearly content needs to be effectively organized into a website layout that makes sense for the specific website solution. Layouts can utilize such design concepts such as focal point and repetition. Making sure a layout is consistent throughout a website, and that everything lines up makes for a much more professional and aesthetically pleasing design. Even more important is that this layout should help make the user experience better. Utilizing the correct grid layout can help the user find what they are looking for faster and more effectively.

For me, the use of grids is an essential part of the website design process. Without it, it would be extremely difficult (if not impossible) to keep track of all the different sections/elements and to make sure they align properly.

Leave a Reply

