Finding and Validating the Information You Seek

Global Search

With almost instant access to mass amounts of information, doing a web search can be a tricky thing. Along with the benefit of having valuable and respected sources of information, comes the burden of weeding out unnecessary and invalid information. Anyone can pose as an expert. Among my favorite online search tools are:

  1. Google – For just about anything, feels like I have full control.
  2. WolframAlpha – Anything math/number related.
  3. Duckduckgo – Keeping it simple.
  4. LinkedIn – A place to ask my professional network.

Searching for information on web searching and validating information I found the following links to be useful to  me.

This first link provides a nice table on search engines http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/SearchEngines.html

I enjoyed this because it introduced me to some new resources http://www.underworldmagazines.com/3-great-online-resources-you-should-be-paying-attention-to/

Though this blog entry discusses themes, it serves as a reminder of purpose http://wpmu.org/the-lost-commandments-applying-the-five-ws-to-your-wordpress-theme/

The headers on this blog post serve as an important reminder to ask the right questions http://www.problogger.net/archives/2012/07/10/find-the-right-blogging-answers-by-asking-the-right-questions/

Comments
6 Responses to “Finding and Validating the Information You Seek”
  1. spiderb says:

    Knowing where and how to find the information you seek is an essential part of a personal learning environment. As a future web designer I want to be able to do more than just keep up with what other professionals and students are doing. Keeping up with trends, new technologies, and best practices is important; but I also want to be able to solve problems I encounter along the way. Whether this entails web-site development or game development; Why reinvent the wheel, if someone has already managed to solve a similar problem? At the same time, I could use my personal learning network to get feedback about new designs and my work.

    The power searching with Google course was really insightful. Among the web searching tools I plan on utilizing are:
    1) Image searching without typing anything and the use of background/dominating color search -Great to find out more about an image such as a work of art, design, or location.
    2) Time lapse searches – Already used this to find this week’s links from within a month from my search (for relevance).
    3) The use of operators to get better search results.
    4) Searching for different perspectives by using translated foreign page searches.

    Reflecting on this topic and the power searching with Google course, I realize the importance of knowing what query or terms to search for. Solving the problem I have encountered efficiently and correctly can depend on me knowing what to search for. It is important to try different terms and strategies. I shouldn’t stop with my first search results. Do at least one more search, and do my best at fact checking and verifying the credibility of my finds. Look for any red flags, and perhaps even plug the url into whois to see where some of this data might be coming from.

    Staying connected with other professionals, possible clients, and peers within the digital information pipeline is an essential tool. I can exploit these resources for news-feeds, trends, answers, feedback and even to conduct surveys. At the same time, I can spend some time giving back, thus sharing in this valuable exchange of information between my learning network.

  2. ash says:

    Wow! You had a lot of great references. You hit it right on the nail when you said, “why reinvent the wheel?” I feel the same exact way. There are so many tools out there that can be improved on rather than created all over again. Getting feedback from seasoned professionals is a good best practice. Getting the perspective from a potential user is always the way to go. You as the designer could be thinking that you have the end user in mind but that is not always the case. No matter how good you think you are, we all make mistakes. It’s human! That’s exactly why we need input and advise from others in the same field who have had to find the same solutions at some point.

  3. emliy says:

    I agree there are a lot of tools that can just be improved rather that have like thousands of them. Asking other people can really help even if you don’t want to there is always something new that they can teach you

  4. bobmaclee says:

    Lots of great resources here and I liked using some of your favorite search tools like WolframAlpha and Duckduckgo. Finding helpful information that is credible is what we’re really after and using those tools can really help. I agree that staying connected with our peers through Web 2.0 tools can be very helpful as we look at things from a different perspective.

  5. madartbear says:

    As we learn about new sites and explore even more. We will learn which sites we can rely on for the most credible information. Already I have learned so much and still finding others suggestions help for example the WolframAlpha will be a huge help to me. Thanks

  6. 3ply.tees says:

    Couldn’t agree more Ash! With the proliferation of social media sites, sharing advice has become even faster and easier!

Leave a Reply

